What’s on

Mozart & Haydn Symphonies - London

Book now

Sat 23 Apr, 7.30pm

St Martin-in-the-Fields, London, UK

English Baroque Soloists
John Eliot Gardiner conductor

Haydn Symphony No. 103 in E-flat major ‘Drumroll’
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 3 in G Major, K. 216
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Major, K. 207
Mozart Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major, K. 543

Both Haydn’s symphony No. 103 (composed in London in 1795) and Mozart’s Symphony No. 39 (1788) show the composers in adventurous mode, Haydn opening proceedings with first an arresting drumroll and then an eerily sombre theme in the lowest instruments of the orchestra. Mozart’s late symphony in E-flat explores unlikely tonalities in its opening movement, embracing a soundworld characterised by clarinets (without the usual oboes), but ends with a brilliantly witty finale.

Between the two symphonies, award-winning violinist Isabelle Faust joins the English Baroque Soloists and John Eliot Gardiner for Mozart’s first and third violin concertos.