What’s on

Beethoven Symphony Cycle - Symphonies 4 & 5

Book Now

Thu 14 May, 7.30pm

POSTPONED, Barbican, London, UK

​Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
John Eliot Gardiner - conductor

Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Op. 60
Beethoven Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67

Sir John Eliot Gardiner’s approach to Beethoven takes us to the raison d’être of the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique, transporting us to the time when Ludwig van Beethoven thrust his extraordinarily original music in front of his audience. The orchestra’s recordings of the symphonies have been described (by Gramophone Magazine) as a “tour de force… played at white heat”, “glorious” and “magnificent”.

The 2020 performances will give audiences the chance to experience the full cycle of symphonies alongside lesser known works by Beethoven: the concert aria ‘Ah! perfido’; excerpts from his only full-length ballet, The Creatures of Prometheus; and excerpts from Leonore, the original version of his opera Fidelio. In select performances, the first Symphony will be paired with the renowned Violin Concerto in D Major. These works express Beethoven’s belief that love, faith and personal courage can overcome political or personal adversity – a message which now seems as urgent as ever.

In celebration of Beethoven’s 250th anniversary year, this project will take MCO on a momentous worldwide tour, performing all nine symphonies to audiences across Europe and the United States. The Monteverdi Choir will join the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique and John Eliot Gardiner for performances of the 9th symphony, alongside a stellar troupe of soloists.