What’s on

Beethoven Symphony Cycle - Symphony No. 1 & Violin Concerto

Mon 22 Jun, 9.00pm

POSTPONED, The Odeon of Herodes Atticus, Athens, Greece

​Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
John Eliot Gardiner - conductor

Isabelle Faust - violin

Creatures of Prometheus, Op. 43: Overture, Introduction & Act I
Beethoven Symphony No. 1 in C Major, op. 21
Beethoven Violin Concerto in D Major, op. 61

Sir John Eliot Gardiner’s approach to Beethoven takes us to the raison d’être of the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique, transporting us to the time when Ludwig van Beethoven thrust his extraordinarily original music in front of his audience. The orchestra’s recordings of the symphonies have been described (by Gramophone Magazine) as a “tour de force… played at white heat”, “glorious” and “magnificent”.

The 2020 performances will give audiences the chance to experience the full cycle of symphonies alongside lesser known works by Beethoven, including excerpts from his only full-length ballet, The Creatures of Prometheus. In select performances, the first Symphony will be paired with the Violin Concerto in D Major, with acclaimed violinist Isabelle Faust featuring as soloist. These works together express Beethoven’s belief that love, faith and personal courage can overcome political or personal adversity – a message which now seems as urgent as ever.

In celebration of Beethoven’s 250th anniversary year, this project will take MCO on a momentous worldwide tour, performing all nine symphonies to audiences across Europe and the United States. The Monteverdi Choir will join the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique and John Eliot Gardiner for performances of the 9th symphony, alongside a stellar troupe of soloists.