English polyphony in dangerous times

SDG 720  |  1 CD (13 tracks)

The Monteverdi Choir
John Eliot Gardiner

Recorded in London, June 2013

Edison Klassiek Award

"As John Eliot Gardiner's superb choir celebrates its half-century, this wide-ranging collection of English polyphony conjures up a time of political dissension and religious turmoil." ★★★★★ – The Observer

"Impressive performances." ★★★★★ – BBC Music Magazine

"This is a glorious testament not just to a golden age in English music but to an English choir celebrating its own golden jubilee." - International Record Review

This album brings together six English composers whose combined careers span more than a century – Byrd, Tallis, Morley, Philips, White and Tomkins.  

The title Vigilate! (Be watchful!) epitomises the clandestine character of recusant music-making in Elizabethan England, by undercover Catholic composers of the time.

The pieces on this recording display the richly imaginative, devout and diverse responses of musical craftsmen who worked with unfailing creativity in difficult times.

The album comes in our usual casebook packaging and contains a 36 pages booklet with notes by Kerry McCarthy and texts in German, English and French.

Free standard delivery worldwide
(Courier delivery options available)

Download all tracks instantly

CD album £12.99

Download CD booklet (PDF)
mp3 album
(Quality: 320 kbps)

FLAC album

Unsure whether to choose mp3 or FLAC? Please read our FAQ before downloading.

Please scroll down to listen to sample of each track (samples are mp3 files - 192kbps)

Tracks in the album:

Track Title Duration Downloads
01 "Ecce vicit Leo (P. Philips)" 02:24
02 "Christe qui lux es et dies (R. White)" 03:38
03 "Scuscipe quaeso Dominus (T. Tallis)" 10:09
04 "O nata lux de lumine (T. Tallis)" 01:46
05 "Laudibus in sanctis (W. Byrd)" 04:06
06 "Civitas sancti tui (W. Byrd)" 05:27
07 "Turn our captivity, O Lord (W. Byrd)" 04:19
08 "Nunc dimittis (W. Byrd)" 08:43
09 "Vigilate (W. Byrd)" 04:08
10 "Nolo mortem peccatoris (T. Morley)" 02:52
11 "Lamentations for six voices (R. White)" 19:28
12 "Justorum animae (W. Byrd)" 03:18
13 "Almighty God, the fountain of all wisdom (T. Tomkins)" 07:12

Total Playing Time: 77:33