Bach Cantatas Vol 25

SDG 144  |  2 CD (42 tracks)

For the Fifth Sunday after Easter
BWV 86 / 87 / 97

For the Sunday after Ascension Day
BWV 44 / 150 / 183

Recorded in Dresden / Sherborne

Katharine Fuge / Joanne Lunn / Robin Tyson / Daniel Taylor / Steve Davislim / Paul Agnew /
Stephan Loges / Panajotis Iconomou
The Monteverdi Choir
The English Baroque Soloists
John Eliot Gardiner

"It’s awesome stuff in every sense […] listen and be enraptured by its clock-stopping grace and profundity" - HMV Choice Magazine

This release combines Cantatas for the Fifth Sunday after Easter with those written for the Sunday after Ascension Day. The first set of Cantatas were recorded in Dresden. It was here that Bach had been crowned unopposed keyboard champion in 1717, and also where the first two movements of what we now know as the B minor Mass were first performed in 1733. The opening cantata, BWV 86 Wahrlich, wahrlich, ich sage euch is a great example of Bach's skill to reinforce religious texts and their meanings. The final piece in the programme is BWV 97 In allen meinen Taten, a cantata without liturgical designation first performed in 1734. It uses the haunting Heinrich Isaac hymn tune 'Innsbruck, ich muss dich lassen' in both its opening and concluding movements.

Recorded in Sherborne Abbey, BWV 150 Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich has no specified liturgical designation but is particularly apt in the period between Easter and Ascension. The two Leipzig cantatas Bach wrote for Exaudi share the title Sie werden euch in den Bann tun. BWV 44 Sie werden euch in den Bann tun I was composed as part of Bach's first Leipzig cycle in 1724 and BWV 183 Sie werden euch in den Bann tun II followed a year later. To balance the performance of BWV 150 Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich, the disc ends with Johann Christoph Bach's five-voiced motet Fürchte dich nicht. This is an uplifting programme recorded in a perfect acoustic setting.


Free standard delivery worldwide
(Courier delivery options available)

Download all tracks instantly

CD album£19.99

Download CD booklet (PDF)

Download CD booklet
mp3 - Disc 1
(Quality: 320 kbps)

mp3 - Disc 2
(Quality: 320 kbps)

FLAC - Disc 1

FLAC - Disc 2

Unsure whether to choose mp3 or FLAC? Please read our FAQ before downloading.

Please scroll down to listen to sample of each track (samples are mp3 files - 192kbps)

Tracks in the album:

Disc 1
Cantata "Wahrlich, wahrlich, ich sage euch" BWV 86
011. (Arioso) (Bass) Wahrlich, wahrlich, ich sage euch2:24
022. Aria (Alto) Ich will doch wohl Rosen brechen5:15
033. Choral (Soprano) Und was der ewig gütig Gott1:44
044. Recitativo (Tenor) Gott macht es nicht gleichwie die Welt0:26
055. Aria (Tenor) Gott hilft gewiss2:18
066. Choral - Die Hoffnung wart' der rechten Zeit1:08
Cantata "Bisher habt ihr nichts gebeten in meinem Namen" BWV 87
071. (Arioso) (Bass) Bisher habt ihr nichts gebeten in meinem Namen1:29
082. Recitativo (Alto) O Wort, das Geist und Seel erschreckt!0:32
093. Aria (Alto) Vergib, o Vater, unsre Schuld7:16
104. Recitativo (Tenor) Wenn unsre Schuld bis an den Himmel steigt0:47
115. (Arioso) (Bass) In der Welt habt ihr Angst1:49
126. Aria (Tenor) Ich will leiden, ich will schweigen4:01
137. Choral - Muss ich sein betrübet?1:26
Cantata "In allen meinen Taten" BWV 97
141. Versus 1. Coro - In allen meinen Taten3:58
152. Versus 2. Aria (Bass) Nichts ist es spät und frühe3:16
163. Versus 3. Recitativo (Tenor) Es kann mir nichts geschehen0:29
174. Versus 4. Aria (Tenor) Ich traue seiner Gnaden5:51
185. Versus 5. Recitativo (Alto) Er wolle meiner Sünden0:35
196. Versus 6. Aria (Alto) Leg ich mich späte nieder3:38
207. Versus 7. Aria (Duetto) (Soprano, Bass) Hat er es denn beschlossen2:42
218. Versus 8. Aria (Soprano) Ihm hab ich mich ergeben3:14
229. Versus 9. Choral - So sei nun, Seele, deine0:54

Disc 2
Cantata "Sie werden euch in den Bann tun" I BWV 44
011. Aria (Duetto) (Tenor, Bass) Sie werden euch in den Bann tun2:02
022. Coro - Es kömmt aber die Zeit1:28
033. Aria (Alto) Christen müssen auf der Erden5:17
044. Choral (Tenor) Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid1:05
055. Recitativo (Bass) Es sucht der Antichrist0:48
066. Aria (Soprano) Es ist und bleibt der Christen Trost5:19
077. Choral - So sei nun, Seele, deine0:59
Cantata "Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich" BWV 150
081. Sinfonia1:35
092. Coro - Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich3:19
103. Aria (Soprano) Doch bin und bleibe ich vergnügt1:35
114. Coro - Leite mich in deiner Wahrheit1:49
125. Aria (Terzetto) (Alto, Tenor, Bass) Zedern müssen von den Winden1:08
136. Coro - Meine Augen sehen stets zu dem Herrn2:05
147. Coro - Meine Tage in den Leiden3:05
Cantata "Sie werden euch in den Bann tun" II BWV 183
151. Recitativo (Bass) Sie werden euch in den Bann tun0:28
162. Aria (Tenor) Ich fürchte nicht des Todes Schrecken10:30
173. Recitativo (Alto) Ich bin bereit1:04
184. Aria (Soprano) Höchster Tröster, Heilger Geist3:29
195. Choral - Du bist ein Geist1:13
20Johann Christoph Bach - Fürchte dich nicht, denn ich hab dich erlöst4:26

Total Playing Time: 1:47:33