Bach Cantatas Vol 16

SDG 137  |  1 CD (26 tracks)

For the Sunday after Christmas
BWV 225 Motet / 152 / 122 / 28 / 190

Recorded in New York

Katharine Fuge / Gillian Keith / Joanne Lunn / Daniel Taylor / James Gilchrist / Peter Harvey
The Monteverdi Choir
The English Baroque Soloists
John Eliot Gardiner

"There is a genuine pilgrim’s humility about this recording that contrasts tellingly with the magnificence of the achievement. Gardiner has made history" - The Times

Volume 16 was recorded at the 59th and final concert in John Eliot Gardiner's triumphant year-long adventure, in a packed - and hushed - St Bartholomew's New York.

It opens with Bach's great double-choir motet, BWV 225 Singet dem Herrn. BWV 152 Tritt auf die Glaubensbahn follows. Bach shapes this intimate chamber piece, scored only for soprano, bass and six instruments, as a spiritual and musical journey. BWV 122 Das neugeborne Kindelein, a chorale cantata composed in 1724 as part of Bach's second mini-Christmas cycle for Leipzig, is as close to the traditional Christmas carol-like image of the infant Jesus as Bach ever got. BWV 190 Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied! was composed for New Year's Day 1724, of which the first two movements have had to be partially reconstructed since only the voice lines and two violin parts survived. Between the psalm verses Bach inserts two lines from Luther's vernacular version of the Te Deum (1529). These he assigns to the traditional liturgical plain-chant delivered in long notes by the choir in octaves, a technique of musical relief of which he was a master - and which is hugely imposing in performance.

A year later, as part of his third Leipzig cycle, Bach presented BWV 28 Gottlob! nun geht das Jahr zu Ende, a fitting title to sum up the parallel sense of loss and fulfilment, relief and regret within the Monteverdi Choir and English Baroque Soloists at the very end of a year-long, life-changing experience.


Free standard delivery worldwide
(Courier delivery options available)

Download all tracks instantly

CD album £13.25

Download CD booklet (PDF)

Download CD booklet
mp3 album
(Quality: 320 kbps)

FLAC album

Unsure whether to choose mp3 or FLAC? Please read our FAQ before downloading.

Please scroll down to listen to sample of each track (samples are mp3 files - 192kbps)

Tracks in the album:

Sample Track Title Duration Downloads
01 Motet: "Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied" BWV 225 12:59
Cantata "Tritt auf die Glaubensbahn" BWV 152
02 1. Sinfonia 3:18
03 2. Aria (Bass) Tritt auf die Glaubensbahn 2:47
04 3. Recitativo (Bass) Der Heiland ist gesetzt 1:51
05 4. Aria (Soprano) Stein, der über alle Schätze 4:33
06 5. Recitativo (Bass) Es ärgre sich die kluge Welt 1:17
07 6. Duetto (Soprano, Bass) Wie soll ich dich, Liebster der Seelen, umfassen? 4:14
Cantata "Das neugeborne Kindelein" BWV 122
08 1. Coro (Chorale) Das neugeborne Kindelein 3:46
09 2. Aria (Bass) O Menschen, die ihr täglich sündigt 5:07
10 3. Recitativo (Soprano) Die Engel, welche sich zuvor 1:22
11 4. Terzetto con Choral - Ist Gott versöhnt und unser Freund 2:36
12 5. Recitativo (Bass) Dies ist ein Tag 1:23
13 6. Choral - Es bringt das rechte Jubeljahr 0:40
Cantata "Gottlob! nun geht das Jahr zu Ende" BWV 28
14 1. Aria (Soprano) Gottlob! nun geht das Jahr zu Ende 3:57
15 2. Coro (Chorale) Nun lob, mein Seel, den Herren 4:25
16 3. Recitativo ed Arioso (Bass) So spricht der Herr 1;19
17 4. Recitativo (Tenor) Gott ist ein Quell 1:07
18 5. Aria (Duetto) (Alto, Tenor) Gott hat uns im heurigen Jahre gesegnet 2:20
19 6. Choral - All solch dein Güt wir preisen 0:56
Cantata "Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied!" BWV 190
20 1. Coro - Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied! 4:26
21 2. Choral e Recitativo (Bass, Tenor, Alto) Herr Gott, dich loben wir 1:24
22 3. Aria (Alto) Lobe, Zion, deinen Gott 2:32
23 4. Recitativo (Bass) Es wünsche sich die Welt 1:22
24 5. Aria (Duetto) (Tenor, Bass) Jesus soll mein alles sein 3:29
25 6. Recitativo (Tenor) Nun, Jesus gebe 1:29
26 7. Choral - Lass uns das Jahr vollbringen 2:09

Total Playing Time: 1:17:29