Bach Cantatas Vol 12

SDG 171  |  2 CD (47 tracks)

For the Twenty-second Sunday after Trinity
BWV 55 / 89 / 115 / 60

For the Twenty-third Sunday after Trinity
BWV 139 / 163 / 52 / 140

Recorded in Tooting / Winchester

Joanne Lunn / Gillian Keith / Susan Hamilton / Robin Tyson / Hilary Summers / James Gilchrist /
William Kendall / Peter Harvey

The Monteverdi Choir
The English Baroque Soloists
John Eliot Gardiner

"Gardiner’s players and singers are soaked in the idiom as no ensemble of musicians can have been, arguably since Bach’s time." - Gramophone

Volume 12 includes cantatas for the twenty-second and twenty-third Sundays after trinity. John Eliot Gardiner, The Monteverdi Choir and The English Baroque Soloists performed both of these programmes in England: at All Saints church in Tooting and at Winchester Cathedral, in November 2000. The soloists include James Gilchrist, Peter Harvey and Joanne Lunn.

The highlight of this album is BWV 140 Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (“Sleepers, wake”) - one of Bach’s best known cantatas, and one that has long been part of the Monteverdi Choir’s repertoire. It is described as “a cantata without weaknesses, without a dull bar, technically, emotionally and spiritually of the highest order”. NWV 55 Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht (“I, wretched man, I slave to sin”) is Bach’s only cantata for solo tenor still in existence. It is sung movingly by James Gilchrist. Of three cantatas on the parable of the unjust steward (BWV 55, 89, 115), BWV 115 Mache dich, mein Geist, bereit (“Prepare yourself, my soul”) is considered to stand out for its subtle instrumental writing and spellbinding arias, which evoke the yearning of the soul for divine mercy.

The recording in Tooting (CD1) is the only one in the whole series that wasn’t recorded live: the original concert took place in Eton chapel, right under the Heathrow airport flight path, so we had to try and recreate the same conditions in a quieter place.


Free standard delivery worldwide
(Courier delivery options available)

Download all tracks instantly

CD album£19.99

Download CD booklet (PDF)

Download CD booklet
mp3 - Disc 1
(Quality: 320 kbps)

mp3 - Disc 2
(Quality: 320 kbps)

FLAC - Disc 1

FLAC - Disc 2

Unsure whether to choose mp3 or FLAC? Please read our FAQ before downloading.

Please scroll down to listen to sample of each track (samples are mp3 files - 192kbps)

Tracks in the album:

Disc 1
Cantata "Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht" BWV 55
011. Aria (Tenor) Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht6:08
022. Recitativo (Tenor) Ich habe wider Gott gehandelt1:22
033. Aria (Tenor) Erbarme dich!4:46
044. Recitativo (Tenor) Erbarme dich!1:16
055. Choral - Bin ich gleich von dir gewichen1:02
Cantata "Was soll ich aus dir machen, Ephraim?" BWV 89
061. Aria (Bass) Was soll ich aus dir machen, Ephraim?3:55
072. Recitativo (Alto) Ja, freilich sollte Gott0:45
083. Aria (Alto) Ein unbarmherziges Gerichte2:28
094. Recitativo (Soprano) Wohlan! Mein Herze legt Zorn, Zank und Zwietracht hin1:07
105. Aria (Soprano) Gerechter Gott, ach, rechnest du?2:14
116. Choral - Mir mangelt zwar sehr viel0:48
Cantata "Mache dich, mein Geist, bereit" BWV 115
121. Coro (Choral) Mache dich, mein Geist, bereit3:59
132. Aria (Alto) Ach schläfrige Seele, wie?10:17
143. Recitativo (Bass) Gott, so vor deine Seele wacht1:07
154. Aria (Soprano) Bete aber auch dabei8:57
5. Recitativo (Tenor) Er sehnet sich nach unserm Schreien0:41
176. Choral - Drum so lasst uns immerdar0:55
Cantata "O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort" II BWV 60
181. Choral (Alto) ed Aria (Tenor) (Duetto) O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort4:59
192. Recitativo (Dialogo) (Alto, Tenor) O schwerer Gang zum letzten Kampf und Streite!2:14
203. Aria (Duetto) (Alto, Tenor) Mein letztes Lager will mich schrecken2:46
214. Recitativo (Alto) ed Arioso (Bass) Der Tod bleibt doch der menschlichen Natur verhasst4:36
225. Choral - Es ist genug1:30

Disc 2
Cantata "Wohl dem, der sich auf seinen Gott" BWV 139
011. Coro (Choral) Wohl dem, der sich auf seinen Gott5:08
022. Aria (Tenor) Gott ist mein Freund; was hilft das Toben5:06
033. Recitativo (Alto) Der Heiland sendet ja die Seinen0:40
044. Aria (Bass) Das Unglück schlägt auf allen Seiten4:58
055. Recitativo (Soprano) Ja, trag ich gleich den grössten Feind in mir0:48
066. Choral - Dahero Trotz der Höllen Heer!0:48
Cantata "Nur jedem das Seine!" BWV 163
071. Aria (Tenor) Nur jedem das Seine!4:03
082. Recitativo (Bass) Du bist, mein Gott, der Geber aller Gaben1:27
093. Aria (Bass) Lass mein Herz die Münze sein2:45
104. Arioso (Duetto) (Soprano, Alto) Ich wollte dir, o Gott2:40
115. [Aria (Duetto) (Soprano, Alto) con Choral] Nimm mich mir und gib mich dir!2:45
126. Choral - Führ auch mein Herz und Sinn0:48
Cantata "Falsche Welt, dir trau ich nicht!" BWV 52
131. Sinfonia4:04
142. Recitativo (Soprano) Falsche Welt, dir trau ich nicht!1:03
153. Aria (Soprano) Immerhin, immerhin3:27
164. Recitativo (Soprano) Gott ist getreu!1:08
175. Aria (Soprano) Ich halt es mit dem lieben Gott4:15
186. Choral - In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr0:57
Cantata "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme" BWV 140
191. Coro (Chorale) Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme6:16
202. Recitativo (Tenor) Er kommt, er kommt0:50
213. Aria (Duetto) (Soprano, Bass) Wenn kömmst du, mein Heil?6:12
224. Choral (Tenor) Zion hört die Wächter singen3:37
235. Recitativo (Bass) So geh herein zu mir1:26
246. Aria (Duetto) (Soprano, Bass) Meine Freund ist mein5:12
257. Choral - Gloria sei dir gesungen1:50

Total Playing Time: 2:20:53