Bach Cantatas Vol 7

SDG 124  |  2 CD (41 tracks)

For the Fourteenth Sunday after Trinity
BWV 25 / 78 / 17

For the Feast of St Michael and All Angels
BWV 50 / 130 / 19 / 149

Recorded in Ambronay / Bremen

Malin Hartelius / Robin Tyson / Richard Wyn Roberts / James Gilchrist / Peter Harvey
The Monteverdi Choir
The English Baroque Soloists
John Eliot Gardiner

"Gardiner’s 2000 Bach Pilgrimage volumes are very addictive. No studio renderings can match them for immediacy, and their revelations are many... You feel you were there, and it’s thrilling" - The Times

The three cantatas for the 14th Sunday after Trinity are all based on the Gospel reading of the day, the story of Jesus' healing of ten lepers. Standing as prime examples of the humanism of Bach's basic approach and the audacity of his musical response, they include BWV 78 Jesu, der du meine Seele, with its white-hot inspiration maintained throughout. It opens with an immense choral lament of a scale, intensity and expressive power that match the preludes of the two surviving Passions. The highlight of BWV 17 Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich, following its exhilarating and florid opening choral fugue and susequent arias, is the extended final chorale, delicate and poignant. The Feast of St Michael and All Angels was marked by Bach by a profusion of dazzling movements, including the breathtaking BWV 50 Nun ist das Heil und die Kraft. In BWV 130 Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir God is praised for creating the guardian angels to protect the believer, and in BWV 19 Es erhub sich ein Streit Bach uses his brass instruments to represent the apocalyptic encounters in heaven between St Michael with all his angels on one side and the devil on the other.


Free standard delivery worldwide
(Courier delivery options available)

Download all tracks instantly

CD album£19.99

Download CD booklet (PDF)

Download CD booklet
mp3 - Disc 1
(Quality: 320 kbps)

mp3 - Disc 2
(Quality: 320 kbps)

FLAC - Disc 1

FLAC - Disc 2

Unsure whether to choose mp3 or FLAC? Please read our FAQ before downloading.

Please scroll down to listen to sample of each track (samples are mp3 files - 192kbps)

Tracks in the album:

Disc 1
Cantata "Es ist nichts Gesundes an meinem Leibe" BWV 25
011. Coro con Choral - Es ist nichts Gesundes an meinem Leibe6:38
022. Recitativo (Tenor) Die ganze Welt ist nur ein Hospital1:36
033. Aria (Bass) Ach, wo hol ich Armer Rat?4:13
044. Recitativo (Soprano) O Jesu, lieber Meister1:09
055. Aria (Soprano) Öffne meinen schlechten Liedern2:57
066. Choral - Ich will alle meine Tage1:09
Cantata "Jesu, der du meine Seele" BWV 78
071. Coro (Choral) Jesu, der du meine Seele6:30
082. Aria (Duetto) (Soprano, Alto) Wir eilen mit schwachen4:20
093. Recitativo (Tenor) Ach! ich bin ein Kind der Sünden2:09
104. Aria (Tenor) Dein Blut, so meine Schuld durchstreicht3:36
115. Recitativo (Bass) Die Wunden, Nägel, Kron und Grab2:08
126. Aria (Bass) Nun du wirst mein Gewissen stillen3:08
137. Choral - Herr, ich glaube, hilf mir Schwachem1:15
Cantata "Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich" BWV 17
14Part I, 1. Coro - Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich4:26
15Part I, 2. Recitativo (Alto) Es muss die ganze Welt ein stummer Zeuge werden1:01
16Part I, 3. Aria (Soprano) Herr, deine Güte reicht3:08
17Part II, 4. Recitativo (Tenor) Einer aber unter ihnen0:42
18Part II, 5. Aria (Tenor) Welch Übermass der Güte3:21
19Part II, 6. Recitativo (Bass) Sieh meinen Willen an1:13
20Part II, 7. Choral - Wie sich ein Vat'r erbarmet2:33

Disc 2
01"Nun ist das Heil und die Kraft" BWV 50, Coro - Nun ist das Heil und die Kraft3:15
Cantata "Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir" BWV 130
021. Coro (Choral) Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir2:58
032. Recitativo (Alto) Ihr heller Glanz und hohe Weisheit zeigt0:50
043. Aria (Bass) Der alte Drache brennt vor Neid4:23
054. Recitativo (Duetto) (Soprano, Tenor) Wohl aber uns, dass Tag und Nacht1:19
065. Aria (Tenor) Lass, o Fürst der Cherubinen4:37
076. Choral - Darum wir billig loben dich1:22
Cantata "Es erhub sich ein Streit" BWV 19
081. Coro - Es erhub sich ein Streit3:50
092. Recitativo (Bass) Gottlob! der Drache liegt0:51
103. Aria (Soprano) Gott schickt uns Mahanaim zu4:37
114. Recitativo (Tenor) Was ist der schnöde Mensch, das Erdenkind?0:51
125. Aria con Choral (Tenor) Bleibt, ihr Engel, bleibt bei mir!8:03
136. Recitativo (Soprano) Lasst uns das Angesicht0:36
147. Choral - Lass dein' Engel mit mir fahren1:35
Cantata "Man singet mit Freuden vom Sieg" BWV 149
151. Coro - Man singet mit Freuden vom Sieg3:48
162. Aria (Bass) Kraft und Stärke sei gesungen2:41
173. Recitativo (Alto) Ich fürchte mich vor tausend Feinden nicht0:44
184. Aria (Soprano) Gottes Engel weichen nie5:06
195. Recitativo (Tenor) Ich danke dir0:35
206. Aria (Duetto) (Alto, Tenor) Seid wachsam, ihr heiligen Wächter3:30
217. Choral - Ach Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein1:57

Total Playing Time: 1:55:11