Bach Cantatas Vol 5

SDG 147  |  2 CD (34 tracks)

For the Eighth Sunday after Trinity
BWV 178 / 136 / 45

For the Tenth Sunday after Trinity
BWV 46 / 101 / 102

Recorded in Rendsburg / Braunschweig

Robin Tyson / Joanne Lunn / Christoph Genz / Daniel Taylor / Brindley Sherratt / Gotthold Schwarz
The Monteverdi Choir
The English Baroque Soloists
John Eliot Gardiner

"All in all, two more wonderful releases from perhaps the most impressive recording project of our times" - Musical Criticism

John Eliot Gardiner's Choral Pilgrimage exploring the magnificence and grandeur of all of Bach's cantatas continues with this two-CD release, combining cantatas for the eighth and tenth Sunday after Trinity, recorded live in August 2000.

For the first set of Cantatas we join John Eliot in Rendsburg, Germany and begin with a performance of the glorious, vehement BWV 178 Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns hält, premiered in Leipzig on 20th July 1724. Deriving from the Gospel reading (Matthew 7:15-23), the cantata warns against hypocrites and false prophets. With its opening powerful chorus described as 'quite astonishing' by John Eliot, the mood is set for this chilling cantata fraught with anger and a grim mood of foreboding. In contrast, hope and belief permeate the following two cantatas; BWV 136 Erforsche mich, Gott, und erfahre mein Herz and BWV 45 Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, wasgutist. The penitential tone of BWV 136 is stressed through the beautifully crafted pleas of 'Prüfe mich' ('Try me') which appear in the extensive opening choral fugue. BWV 45 is Bach's last surviving cantata for this Sunday and is replete with emotional turmoil.

We are then taken further south to Braunschweig, Germany and open with Bach's first Leipzig cantata for this Sunday, BWV 46 Schauet doch und sehet, ob irgendein Schmerz sei. Here on the tenth Sunday after Trinity the Gospel (Luke 19:41-48) tells us how Jesus predicted the imminent destruction of Jerusalem. Bach, unsurprisingly, excels producing a richly thematic cantata depicting clearly the story's vivid, unsettling patterns of destruction and restoration, of God's anger and Christ's mercy. The antithesis between God's anger and mercy resurfaces in Bach's two later cantatas for this Sunday; BWV 101 Nimm von uns Herr, du treuer Gott and BWV 102 Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben! In contrast to BWV 101 that is based largely on the hymn of the day sung to the melody of Luther's German version of the Lord's Prayer, BWV 102 does not, stressing again Bach's innovative and unpredictable genius. With their customary brilliance and expert musicianship, the Monteverdi Choir and the English Baroque Soloists triumph, making this the ideal next instalment in what many have already come to regard as the first choice of recorded Bach Cantata series.


Free standard delivery worldwide
(Courier delivery options available)

Download all tracks instantly

CD album£19.99

Download CD booklet (PDF)

Download CD booklet
mp3 - Disc 1
(Quality: 320 kbps)

mp3 - Disc 2
(Quality: 320 kbps)

FLAC - Disc 1

FLAC - Disc 2

Unsure whether to choose mp3 or FLAC? Please read our FAQ before downloading.

Please scroll down to listen to sample of each track (samples are mp3 files - 192kbps)

Tracks in the album:

Disc 1
Cantata "Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns hält" BWV 178
011. Coro (Choral) Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns hält5:35
022. Choral e Recitativo (Alto) Was Menschenkraft und -witz anfäht1:47
033. Aria (Bass) Gleichwie die wilden Meereswellen3:29
044. Choral (Tenor) Sie stellen uns wie Ketzern nach1:44
055. Choral e Recitativo (Bass, Tenor, Alto) Auf sperren sie den Rachen weit1:19
066. Aria (Tenor) Schweig, schweig nur, taumelnde Vernunft!3:41
077. Choral - Die Feind sind all in deiner Hand1:48
Cantata "Erforsche mich, Gott, und erfahre mein Herz" BWV 136
081. Coro - Erforsche mich, Gott, und Erfahre mein Herz4:12
092. Recitativo (Tenor) Ach, dass der Fluch, so dort die Erde schlägt1:15
103. Aria (Alto) Es kömmt ein Tag4:09
114. Recitativo (Bass) Die Himmel selber sind nicht rein1:05
125. Aria (Duetto) (Tenor, Bass) Uns treffen zwar der Sünden Flecken4:11
136. Choral - Dein Blut, der edle Saft0:51
Cantata "Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, was gut ist" BWV 45
14Part I, 1. Coro - Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, was gut ist4:57
15Part I, 2. Recitativo (Tenor) Der Höchste lässt mich seinen Willen wissen0:45
16Part I, 3. Aria (Tenor) Weiß ich Gottes Rechte3:39
17Part II, 4. Arioso (Bass) Es werden viele zu mir Sagen an jenem Tage2:42
18Part II, 5. Aria (Alto) Wer Gott bekennt aus wahrem Herzensgrund3:43
19Part II, 6. Recitativo (Alto) So wird denn Herz und Mund selbst von mir Richter sein0:49
20Part II, 7. Choral - Gib, dass ich tu mit Fleiß1:08

Disc 2
Cantata "Schauet doch und sehet, ob irgendein Schmerz sei" BWV 46
011. Coro - Schauet doch und sehet, ob irgendein Schmerz sei6:45
022. Recitativo (Tenor) So klage du, zerstörte Gottesstadt2:05
033. Aria (Bass) Dein Wetter zog sich auf von weiten3:09
044. Recitativo (Alto) Doch bildet euch, o Sünder, ja nicht ein0:51
055. Aria (Alto) Doch Jesus will auch bei der Strafe4:19
066. Choral - O großer Gott von Treu1:43
Cantata "Nimm von uns, Herr, du treuer Gott" BWV 101
071. Coro (Choral) Nimm von uns, Herr, du treuer Gott5:33
082. Aria (Tenor) Handle nicht nach deinen Rechten3:16
093. Recitativo e Choral (Soprano) Ach! Herr Gott, durch die Treue dein2:08
104. Aria (Bass) Warum willst du so zornig sein?5:17
115. Recitativo e Choral (Tenor) Die Sünd hat uns verderbet sehr1:40
126. Aria (Duetto) (Soprano, Alto) Gedenk an Jesu bittern Tod!6:13
137. Choral - Leit uns mit deiner rechten Hand0:53
Cantata "Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben!" BWV 102
14Part I, 1. Coro - Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben!5:17
15Part I, 2. Recitativo (Bass) Wo ist das Ebenbild, das Gott uns eingepräget0:59
16Part I, 3. Aria (Alto) Weh der Seele, die den Schaden5:15
17Part I, 4. Arioso (Bass) Verachtest du den Reichtum seiner Gnade2:40
18Part II, 5. Aria (Tenor) Erschrecke doch, du allzu sichre Seele!4:03
19Part II, 6. Recitativo (Alto) Beim Warten ist Gefahr1:23
20Part II, 7. Choral - Heut lebst du, heut bekehre dich1:47

Total Playing Time: 1:58:46